Posted by: kathyhugs | February 5, 2008

Frustrations

Boy what a roller coaster of emotions this morning. I had a fight with my son and several phone calls that have pushed me over the edge. My family in Indiana can be difficult to deal with at times. They are not handling their grief well and they definitely do not know how to support me and help me. Their grief and their other issues in their lives have made them emotional time bombs. It has been hard to try and help them as we all process our grief. Today I made a tough decision to stop trying to be the rock for everyone else. This week has already been an emotional one and I know it will not get any better. In order to take care of my immediate family I have to put up boundaries around us. So I let my dad know that he will be the only one that I will talk to about everything that may happen this week and that he will need to let everyone else know. I am not going to answer any phone calls or emails from the rest of the family. They are going to have to deal with their own issues for the time being.

I feel very guilty about doing this but at the same time I had to do it for my own emotional well being. They will not understand but that is okay. God lets me know when I need to rest in Him alone and let the rest of the world take care of itself.

So for the rest of the week I am going to surround myself with my immediate family (Rick and Sean), supportive friends, good music, my favorite devotional and a lot of quiet time with God. It doesn’t get much sweeter than that.

Thank you for your prayers and love. They are helping me to hang on and rely on God to be My Rock!

Leave a Reply

Categories

