Posted by: kathyhugs | February 19, 2008

Inventory of Loss part 2

Last night I started my inventory list of everything I have lost with the death of our daughter, Tonia. Today I want to focus on how God has and will continue to provide.

I have lost Tonia for now, but I will see her again in Heaven, of this I am 100% sure. So this is a temporary parting.

I don’t have a daughter to watch “chick flicks” with so I have invited one of the girls from youth group at church to go see “27 Dresses” with me tomorrow and I have many more of “my girls” to share these movies and these times with.

Tonia and I will sing together again one day but for now I will look for someone to share my goofiness and sing Karaoke together. Are you interested?

One day, I may have a daughter-in-law who will call me mom and I will get the phone call saying, “you’re going to be a grandmother”!

God has provided new friends who understand the pain of loss and the joy of tomorrow.
God has given me His grace and strength to continue to heal and continue to reach out to others in their grief.

It tells us in the bible that to everything there is a season: a time to weep and a time to laugh,
a time to mourn and a time to dance. For now it is a time to weep and a time to mourn but as God heals my heart the joy will come in the morning and it will once again be a time to laugh and dance. Tonia is laughing, dancing and singing in Heaven. Her time to weep is forever over. The heavens proclaimed her homecoming with praise and rejoicing.

So today those of us who are left behind will cry and mourn everything we have lost here on earth. We will forever miss Tonia and the hole in my heart will never go away but someday it will be lightly covered up with a gentle layer of memories and instead of weeping the memories will bring a small smile to my face as I remember her singing in 5th grade “Chocolate, I love chocolate. I never want to do without it”. Or something like that 🙂

May today you be blessed with love and peace and chocolate!

Leave a Reply

Categories

