Posted by: kathyhugs | July 1, 2009

2 years

Tonia Renee was born at 4:22 am on August 29, 1981 in Merrillville, Indiana. She died on July 1, 2007 sometime in the late morning or early afternoon. 25 years on this earth. A life that was too short in earthly terms. But God called her home in His time.

Tonia loved to sing and one of my favorite memories and the thing I miss the most is our times singing along together to our favorite musicals: Seven Brides for Seven Brothers, Fiddler on the Roof, and especially the Sound of Music. She was singing from the time she could talk and we had many a car trip where we sang silly songs at the top of our lungs. Songs like John Jacob Jingleheimer Schmitt, Do Your Ears Hang Low, Puff the Magic Dragon, Chocolate and Skinna Marinka Dinka Dink. Car trips would fly by with songs and playing 20 questions.

Tonia had a love for children and animals. She adopted every stray that came her way whether it was a cat, a dog, a rabbit or even JC’s pet ducks! But her best “animal story” happened when she was only 2 years old and we were living in Arizona. I was at work one morning when I got a call from her pre-school teacher. She told me that the school was closing for the day and that I needed to come and pick up Tonia. When I got there all of the kids along with the teachers were standing outside in the parking lot waiting for the parents to sign them out for the day. Tonia’s teacher pulled me aside and said that she wanted to share something with me. She was laughing and I knew that Tonia had gotten into something. Tonia loved to wear baseball hats. She had a hat for school, a hat for dress-up, a hat for play. Well on this day she had her baseball hat on when she went out to recess. While she was on the playground she went up to her teacher and said “look teacher I have a pretty bug”. She had a baby black widow spider in her hat! Where there is a baby there is a mother! So the school was evacuated until the exterminator could come and spray. So Tonia’s love of hats and animals closed a preschool down! This is one of my favorite stories, one of my sweetest memories.

So today Tonia has been gone from this earth for two years. The memories live on in my heart. I am blessed to have a daughter who God entrusted to me for 25 years. We had our good times and our tough times but I never stopped loving her and praying for her.

On the day of July 1st God called her home. My heart is still broken and hurting but God has been covering over this hole with his love and comfort and knowledge that I will see her again. She is waiting for us to join our voices once again singing praises to God. This song captures the hope perfectly!

I Can Only Imagine

I can only imagine
What it will be like
When I walk
By your side

I can only imagine
What my eyes will see
When your face
Is before me
I can only imagine

I can only imagine

Surrounded by Your glory, what will my heart feel
Will I dance for you Jesus or in awe of you be still
Will I stand in your presence or to my knees will I fall
Will I sing hallelujah, will I be able to speak at all
I can only imagine

I can only imagine

I can only imagine
When that day comes
And I find myself
Standing in the Son

I can only imagine
When all I will do
Is forever
Forever worship You
I can only imagine

I can only imagine

I can only imagine
When all I will do
Is forever, forever worship you

I can only imagine……

So today I will go to the cemetery and leave a bouquet of purple carnations as a reminder of my love but also as the promise and hope in our eternal life together.

Thank you for your love and prayers!

Leave a Reply

Categories

