Posted by: kathyhugs | December 29, 2009

Christmas thoughts

Christmas is such a special time of the year for me.  It means so much more than what it did when I was growing up.  I loved Christmas as a child. Now the idea that God sent His son with the express purpose of becoming flesh and blood to die for me is amazing. Knowing that Jesus felt our joy and our pain. Jesus knew hunger and cold. Jesus smelled a flower and smiled. He was fully human so he understands what it means to cry and to laugh. He came to earth for me! His birth at Christmas was about a new beginning, a new hope and the guarantee that God will be with me always. He came as a helpless baby, born in a lonely stable to a teenage mother. He grew up as a simple carpenter waiting in expectation for the time that God had prepared Him for. He then traveled and taught and prepared mankind for the miracle that was about to happen. God chose to sacrifice His only son so that I could spend eternity with Him and because of that gift I also get to spend eternity with my daughter.

Today we celebrated Christmas;  Just the three of us. It was a good day but a part of the “us” was missing. The new normal of Christmas is still something I need to get used to. It bothers me that  can’t go back to who I was.

Christmas is the beginning of the promise. The prelude to the Miracle that we are given at Easter. The world has been pierced by the light of hope.

Christmas is Hope, Light, Love, Peace and Joy. The songs speak into my heart. The smell of our Christmas tree fills our home. Buying a gift to save I love you takes on a new meaning. The knowledge that I have another Christmas to spend with the people I love brings a smile to my face.

Merry Christmas from our home to yours!

Leave a Reply

Categories

