Posted by: kathyhugs | February 10, 2010

The future: my thoughts

I have thought about how God has changed me over the last 12.5 years. It was July of 1997 that I first accepted Christ as my Lord and Savior. I had a chip on my shoulder about God and I had a lot of issues with various people in my life. Slowly God has given me a new heart. He is teaching me patience and mercy for others. He has shown me how much he loves me and he is teaching me how to love others. He has given me friends to share life with. He has walked with me through the valley and given me strength to endure.

As I have looked back on these years I have noticed a few things:

When Tonia died it was almost exactly 10 years since I had accepted Christ as my Savior. I know that I could not have responded as I have if it wasn’t for God’s hand in my life

When I have been discouraged it has been when I haven’t taken the time to listen to what God is telling me

When I have felt weak God has provided strength

When I felt lost without friends or family, God gave us a church home and started to teach me how to work at restoring relationships.

So what does the future look like. Right now it is still fuzzy. I am not sure where this path is leading. I know that God is stirring some desires in my heart. People are so important to me. Loving on others, speaking to others, sharing my story and my testimony of God’s grace and healing is becoming more important as times goes by. The idea of a parent hurting and being angry with God after losing a child is something that I want to address. I know there are husbands and wives that grow apart after they lose a child. I would like to help them communicate through their struggles and become a stronger couple. I think this is something that God maybe encouraging me to share.

I have a passion for families, teenagers, women, hurting people in general. I believe that this empathy has come from God and that he is using my past experiences to relate to others.

So for now I continue to wait, to pray, to listen and to share with my godly husband! God has a plan and a purpose for everything that has happened. I need to empty myself and allow God to use me as He chooses!

Leave a Reply

Categories

