Posted by: kathyhugs | November 3, 2010

New Plans? God’s plans?

Philippians 3, “Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal.

It is a new season, I think. It has been very hard to look too far into the future because the present has been so overwhelming. But now changes are happening and it is a time of reflection and prayer. Rick is firmly entrenched in his new job and he loves it. We just spent the weekend in Richmond, VA so I can meet some of the people he is working with. It was a delightful trip. Great conversations about life and faith. I am looking forward to getting to know everyone better over time.

This week I am off being a bum, ok I am off catching up on bills, laundry, appointments and everything else that has gotten pushed to the back burner! On Monday I start my new job at the Beaver and Moon UPCI Cancer Center as a PET/CT nurse. It will be very different and I am walking forward trusting that God has a plan. My new director is wonderful. We have been in regular email contact since my interview. I am getting excited about the possibilities.

Sean is working on getting everything ready to move to Chicago in January. He still needs a place to live and he is working on the finances. Prayerfully we are letting him stretch his wings and fly! So in January we will be empty nesters! We are thinking about offering a bedroom to a local college student to live in. We have the room, we can help someone out and the house won’t feel so empty when RIck is gone. God will lead us.

We have been trying to decide what our goals are over the next 2, 5 and 10 years. FUZZY! We have started to make some plans as far as trips. We are planning on a trip to Israel in March 2012 for our belated 25 wedding anniversary. We are planning on renewing our vows next May for our 25th Anniversary.

We were asked by a friend who is helping us with retirement planning when we plan on retiring and what we want to do. What? When? Retire? I am too young to even think about that. Then….. I got an invitation in the mail to join the AARP. What this has to be a mistake! But then I realized that I am eligible because I am turning 50! No Way! I threw it in the garbage. I am going to be Feisty, Fifty and Fully Fun!  I have always loved the ladies in the Red Hat Society. They are about fun. I want to wear purple on my birthday and just be the outrageous person God created!

So back to plans. HMMMMMM!??? Hug a million more people. Pray with a 1000 new friends. Touch the hearts of a ton more women. Share a moment with someone whose heart is hurting. Laugh with a roomful of sisters in Christ. Cry with a friend who is struggling. Live, laugh and love the people God puts in my path. The greatest thing about this plan….I can do it right now and not wait to retire!

Do I have the answers to: when I want to retire and what I want to do?  NO! But that’s okay. For now life is about friends, old and new, a good cup of coffee, a good book, special photos and prayers to a God who know the plans He has for me. For now…. it is enough.

May you enjoy the sun, the rain, the smiles and the tears as you live life. Wear purple and have fun! HUGS

Responses

  1. Hi!

    It’s been a while since I’ve left you a message. I was thinking about your comment regarding finances and Sean, and I instantly thought of Joseph Sangl. We’ve been getting on track financially through all of his biblical and practical advice. His site is http://www.josephsangl.com if you’d like to know more or get any of the free computer budgeting tools that he has.

    A PET/CT scan nurse…ah, it reminds me of how we have 1 more to go this year for Richie. I can’t believe it’s been almost a year since his nephrectomy. We’re definitely both looking forward to a normal Christmas! 🙂

    I hope that God keeps blessing you and all of these new changes in your life, so that you can keep blessing others!


Leave a Reply

Categories

