Posted by: kathyhugs | December 9, 2010

Christmas!

It is almost Christmas! Amazing. Where did this year go? How can it almost be over? Christmas is such a special time in my heart. The birth of my Savior. God gave us a gift that no one can match, do one can do more. He sent Himself as a baby as a gift to us. A baby born of innocence into a world full of suffering and sin. To bring a light, a hope, a promise; to bring …. Eternity. As I look around at the people in my life I realize just how blessed I am.

I have an amazing husband who cherishes me and treats me as a precious gift. I have a wonderful son who laughs with me and sometimes laughs at me as he loves me just as I am! I have family who care for me and love on me. I have friends who have walked with me through the valley and into the light. I have a life that God is molding for His purposes.

I have to remind myself of these things at times. My life is good. I am content except when I am not! Holidays are wonderful yet they are also hard. The hustle and bustle of planning and living and making lists sometimes gets in the way of the reason we have Christmas. When I focus on me, I get cranky and stressed and overwhelmed. I focus on what I don’t have anymore instead of what I do have. When I focus on me I get sad. I cry. I hurt. It is not a nice place to be. But then I get this nudge in my spirit, a whisper that speaks of love and forgiveness and healing. Then I remember. I remember…. IT IS NOT ABOUT ME! WHEEEEEE!  The focus shifts. A warm wind sweeps over my heart and the hurt is shared with someone who understands the pain and comforts me. My eyes look around and I see the blessings. My ears hear the needs of the people around me. My arms open to share a hug. Christmas becomes the season of remembering the blessings I have been given and hopefully spreading the Joyous news: Christ has been born to give the Only gift worth getting, Him!

So from my heart to yours, I love you. I am sending you a Christmas hug. Thank you for being a part of my life and such a blessing. God is so amazing. I rejoice.

Leave a Reply

Categories

