Posted by: kathyhugs | January 5, 2011

2011!

Happy New Year! Wow is it really 2011? I remember when I was small thinking that tomorrow would never come, and then my next birthday would never come! When will I ever get my driver’s license? I can’t wait until I turn 18, 21 and so on.

Remember when the world was concerned about Y2K? That was 11 years ago! Incredible.

2011: a new year, a new season, new opportunities. In less than 48 hours we will be taking Sean to Chicago to move into his graduate school dorm room. Our house will be empty. I have VERY mixed emotions. He is so ready to be out on his own and moving forward. He is packing up his room here at home as I write this. We have done our jobs as parents and given him wings to fly. It is time.  But, here it comes the but…. I will miss him! Just knowing that he was here and I could catch up with him a few times a week was wonderful. Of course he is still my son so it could also be very frustrating at times! I have always loved being a hands on, go to every soccer game, choir concert, Boy Scout meeting or just driving them to and from their friends. Those days are now behind me. A new season.

Now I get to enjoy the time with my wonderful husband and my friends. Rick and I have plans to visit friends in Florida. We also want to see friends in North Carolina and Tennessee. We are already planning our next trip to Richmond to get to know our new friends there. The season as a couple without kids has begun!

I have plans to paint the entire house (not entirely by myself but I love to paint), re-decorate the upstairs bathroom and clean out my office.  All of these plans are for this year!! I have also started working on another special project that I would like to see completed by this summer.

Seasons: they never stay the same but then that is how God created us to be. We are to wake up with each day in front of us, alive and walking forward down the path God has in store for us. So even though one season is coming to the end and it brings tears, tomorrow holds the promise that it is a new day. I will rejoice and be glad in it!

Enjoy your season!

Leave a Reply

Categories

